November 13, 2008

New Beginnings, Introductions, and Stuff

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:07 pm by allisonwonder

Hey there!

Welcome to my adventure in Home Economics. Did you take home-ec in high school? I didn’t. Come to think of it, I don’t even know if it was offered at my school by the time I got there… we all had to take it in junior high, but it was only a half-semester course, the other half being woodshop. I vaguely remember making a lasagna with a small group… and sewing a book cover…

What I’m getting at here is that I managed to get through school and be released into this wide, wacky world with next to no knowledge about anything to do with managing house and home. My mom is great- she’s a good cook, she kept our house clean and (usually) tidy, she raised me and my brother and looked after other people’s kids, too. Still, I grew up hating housework, and I just didn’t pick up much in the way of cooking skills, either. As for kids… I love mine, but take all others on an individual basis.

Oh, and MONEY- the economics within the home economics. The hubby and I haven’t had a lot to work with in the past, being both employed in retail, and then with the addition of two beautiful boys, plus various cars that cost more in repair bills than they did in monthly payments. We’ve never gone hungry, we’ve never missed a rent payment, but it’s been close a few times. Now that hubby’s starting a new job, one that actually pays decent money, there’s actually going to be money to manage.

We’re moving for that job. Hubby’s already there; the kids and I will be joining him in just a few days. For the first time, we’re going to have a house to ourselves; we’re renting a sweet little bungalow with a view of the water, and I’m going to do the best I can with it, dammit!

A new start means new goals- that’s the point of New Year’s resolutions, right? I’m gonna think on that, and I’ll post those next time. Food, kids, house, finances, marriage, self… so much to think about! I’m going to be learning by trial and error (especially with the cooking, God help us!), but we’ll get there…

Leave a Reply

